Home :: Articles :: The Band :: History :: Discography :: Tour Archive :: Links :: About the Site :: Updates

July 21, 2021

Queensryche Biography Cover Revealed! Book Set for Release in October

Building An Empire: The Story of Queensryche will be released this coming October. The forthcoming first biography of one of progressive metal's pioneering bands was penned by James R. Beach with Brian L. Naron and Brian J. Heaton. The book's cover can be seen on the right.

The book will be published by NW Metalworx Music and issued in multiple formats, including a collector's edition hardcover, a standard paperback, and an electronic version that can be downloaded as a standalone .pdf, or purchased for the Amazon Kindle. The hardcover edition will feature a CD of rare audio interviews with Queensryche and an exclusive poster. Pre-orders will start in August on nwmetalworxmusic.com, and later on Amazon.com and other online retail sites...

[ Read More ]

June 9, 2021

The Mystery of 'Dirty Lil Secret'

After 40 years, there aren't many unknowns about Queensryche's song catalog, particularly that of the band's original lineup. Casual fans can recite most of the lyrics of Operation: Mindcrime and many are likely familiar with all the singles and favorites from Empire and Queensryche's other records. Even rarities such as "Last Time in Paris," "Real World" and "Chasing Blue Sky" have been examined ad nauseum over the years. But there's one track that has eluded significant attention: "Dirty Lil Secret."

[ Read More ]

May 17, 2021

Details Emerge on Lackluster Empire (and Operation: MIndcrime) Box Sets

Capitol Records is finally getting around to releasing the long-awaited 30th anniversary box set of Queensryche's Empire on June 25. The label is also re-releasing Operation: Mindcrime in a similar format on the same day, giving the band's fans a double dose of classic material to consider rebuying.

Empire is featured as a 3CD/1DVD box set, while Operation: MIndcrime is being issued as a 4 CD/1 DVD box set. The audio from both new versions of the respective original albums is newly remastered at Abbey Road Studios in London and will also be available on vinyl. Simple two-CD versions of the records are also being released. Sadly, however, the contents of both sets are underwhelming, and likely not worth investing in if you've kept up with buying past editions of each album...

[ Read More ]

April 22, 2021

A Word About the Upcoming Queensryche Biography

NW Metalworx Music will publish Building An Empire: The Story of Queensryche, the first biography on the band, later this year. I'm honored and proud to be a co-writer (along with James R. Beach and Brian L. Naron) on this book, which will chronicle the group's 40-year history.

In anticipation of pre-orders later this summer, we launched a Facebook page earlier this month to interact with Queensryche fans and connect with potential readers. One of the early questions we received was whether the biography will dish dirt on the band. In short, the answer is a resounding "NO" and I wanted to explain just what to expect when you crack the cover this fall...

[ Read More ]

April 12, 2021

Vocal Harmonies – The Missing Ingredient in Queensryche's Live Sound

When guitarist Chris DeGarmo left Queensryche at the end of 1997, it inevitably affected the band's chemistry. His distinctive playing style and songwriting were crucial parts of Queensryche's DNA. The band has soldiered on for almost 24 years since then, releasing numerous albums and touring the world countless times over. There's no denying that Queensryche is a bona fide success story.

Despite the group's longevity and accomplishments, however, there is one thing Queensryche hasn't quite gotten a handle on since DeGarmo's departure so many years ago—vocal harmonies. The lack of which is arguably the most glaring difference in the band's live performances ever since....

[ Read More ]

[ View More Entries ]

Copyright 2006-2021, AnybodyListening.net. All Rights Reserved.