Table of Contents -- Discography

Rage for Order

Title: Rage for Order
Release Date: 1986 (EMI Records)
Producer: Neil Kernon
Engineer: Neil Kernon
Mixing: Neil Kernon


Walk in the Shadows -- (DeGarmo/Tate/Wilton)
I Dream in Infrared -- (Tate/Wilton)
The Whisper -- (DeGarmo)
Gonna Get Close to You -- (Lisa Dal Bello)
The Killing Words -- (DeGarmo/Tate)
Surgical Strike -- (DeGarmo/Wilton)
Neue Regel -- (DeGarmo/Tate)
Chemical Youth (We Are Rebellion) -- (Tate/Wilton)
London (DeGarmo/Tate/Wilton)
Screaming in Digital -- (DeGarmo/Tate/Wilton)
I Will Remember -- (DeGarmo)

Key Tracks: Screaming in Digital, Neue Regel, Walk in the Shadows


Gonna Get Close to You
The Whisper
Walk in the Shadows

Notes: Rage for Order expanded upon the progressive elements of The Warning, featuring more keyboards, even more tempo changes, and a colder sonic approach to the songs. Considered "ahead of its time" upon release, Rage is credited among many metal fans as one of the defining albums of the progressive heavy metal subgenre, influencing a range of hard rock, goth and industrial musicians.

The record was also notable for its complex lyrics. Rage for Order has a three-tiered lyrical motif with songs that interconnect on personal, political and technological themes. Producer Neil Kernon also plays keyboards on a few tracks, including "Screaming in Digital."

Interesting fact: Rage for Order had three additional tracks that were demoed by the band, but never released. They are: "Rage for Order," "From the Darkside" and "The Dream." The title track of the album was re-worked into what would become "Anarchy-X" on Operation: Mindcrime. But the original version of "Rage for Order," had a speaking/psuedo-rapping vocal to it.

Copyright 2015, All Rights Reserved.